Census Organization

The Indian Census is the largest single source of various statistical information on various characteristics of the people of India. With a history of more than 130 years, this reliable, time-tested exercise is bringing in a real insight into the data every 10 years, beginning in the year 1872 when the first census was conducted non-synchronously in different parts of India.The Indian Census has been an attractive source of data for scholars and researchers in demography, economics, anthropology, sociology, statistics and many other disciplines. The rich diversity of India's people is indeed revealed by the decadal census, which has become a tool for understanding and studying India.

The responsibility of conducting the decadal census rests with the Office of the Registrar General and Census Commissioner of India, Ministry of Home Affairs, Government of India. It may be of historical interest that although the population census of India is a major administrative task; Census organization was set up on an ad-hoc basis for each census till the year 1951 census. The Census Act was enacted in the year 1948 to provide a plan for conducting population census along with the duties and responsibilities of census officers.The Government of India decided in May 1949 to take steps to develop a systematic collection of data on population size, its growth, etc. and set up an organization in the Ministry of Home Affairs under the Registrar General of India and ex-officio Census Commissioner. This organization was created to prepare data on population figures including vital statistics and census. Later, this office was also entrusted with the task of implementation of the Birth and Death Registration Act, 1969 in the country.

The Census Commissioner from the 1881 census to 1941 and thereafter the Registrar General and Census Commissioner of India from 1949 onwards, are shown below:

Census Commissioner, India Registrar General & Census Commissioner, India
1881 Mr. W. W. Plauden 1949 Mr. M. W. M. Yeatts 1989 - 1994 Mr. A. R. Nanda
1891 Mr. J. A. Bains 1949 - 1953 Mr. R. A. Gopalaswami 1994 - 1999 Dr. M. Vijayanunni
1901 Mr. H. H. Risley & E. A. Gait 1958 - 1968 Mr. Asok Mitra 1999 - 2004 Mr. J. K. Banthia
1911 Mr. E. A. Gait 1968 - 1973 Mr. A. Chandra Sekhar 2004 - 2009 Mr. D.K. Sikri
1921 Mr. J. T. Marten 1973 - 1977 Mr. R. B. Chari 2009 - 2016 Dr. C. Chandramouli
1931 Mr. J. H. Hutton 1977 - 1983 Mr. P. Padmanabha 2016 - 2019 Shri Sailesh
1941 Mr. M. W. M. Yeatts 1983 - 1989 Mr Vijay S Verma 2019 - 2022 Dr. Vivek Joshi
2022 - Shri Mritunjay Kumar Narayan

Census Organization of India - A family of 34 numbers of Directorates of Census Operations is functioning under the aegis of its Headquarters - Office of the Registrar General & Census Commissioner, India, New Delhi.

List of Directorate of Census Operations in India
1. Andaman and Nicobar islands 13. Jammu and Kashmir 25. Puducherry
2. Andhra Pradesh 14. Jharkhand 26. Punjab
3. Arunachal Pradesh 15. Karnataka 27. Rajasthan
4. Assam 16. Kerala 28. Sikkim
5. Bihar 17. Lakshadweep 29. Tamil Nadu
6. Chandigarh 18. Madhya Pradesh 30. Telangana
7. Chattisgarh 19. Maharashtra 31. Tripura
8. Delhi 20. Manipur 32.Uttar Pradesh
9. Goa 21. Meghalaya 33. Uttarakhand
10.Gujarat, Daman and Diu and Dadra and Nagar Haveli 22. Mizoram 34. West Bengal
11. Haryana 23. Nagaland
12. Himachal Pradesh 24. Odisha